How to choose a wellness retreat: a buyer's checklist for first-timers
What to ask before you pay a deposit: who leads, what a day looks like, who should check with a clinician first, what the price includes, and the refund terms.
Short answer: Decide what you want the week to do, then check five things on the retreat’s own pages before you pay: who leads it and what credentials they state, the real daily schedule, who the retreat says should talk to a doctor or therapist first, what the price includes (room type, meals, transfers, fees and tips), and the deposit and refund terms. On October 28, 2026, the 11 US retreats and resorts in our table published some of these and left others out, so ask in writing for the rest.
If this is your first retreat, the hardest part is choosing from a website. The photos look alike and the promises rhyme. This checklist is built from what retreats publish about themselves: on October 28, 2026 we read the program, fee and FAQ pages of 11 US retreats, meditation centers and spa resorts, and the table further down shows what each one says. We have not visited them, and we do not rank or recommend them.
Start with what you want the retreat to do
Before you compare places, write one sentence about what you want the week to do for you. “I want to sleep through the night again.” “I want to learn a meditation practice I can keep at home.” “I want a structured reset after a hard year.”
That sentence is your filter. Formats differ even at one address. At Kripalu in Stockbridge, Massachusetts, the Retreat and Renewal stay says “All activities are included in your stay but are always optional”, while the two-night Yoga for Stress and Burnout program starts each full day with 6:30 am yoga and runs program sessions from 9:00 to 12:00 and 1:30 to 4:30 (schedule read October 28, 2026). A silent meditation course and a spa week can both be good; they answer different questions.
Who should talk to a doctor or therapist before booking a retreat
The retreats that publish health guidance are clear about it, so read theirs before you pay. On the pages we read (October 2026):
- Recent trauma, depression, anxiety or PTSD. The Insight Meditation Society (IMS) says a silent retreat “may not be appropriate” if you have recently experienced considerable trauma, significant depression or anxiety, or strong PTSD. Spirit Rock says practitioners “should be in a stable period of mental well-being”, and its pre-retreat questionnaire asks for your mental health professional’s contact details.
- Significant mental health issues. Dhamma.org, which runs the free Goenka Vipassana courses, says Vipassana “is not a substitute for medical or psychiatric treatment” and does not recommend it “for people with significant mental health issues”; it asks for your mental health history on the application.
- In therapy now. Spirit Rock asks anyone under psychiatric care to discuss attending with their professional, and the Hoffman Institute asks people in therapy to consult their doctor or therapist. Hoffman also reviews “severe or treatment-resistant depression and certain anxiety-related disorders” before you attend.
- Crisis care. Onsite, which runs therapist-led group intensives, says it does not offer crisis intervention or detox.
Medication. Keep taking prescribed medication on retreat, bring enough for the whole stay, and list it on any application form. NIMH advises never stopping a prescribed medication without your health care provider, and IMS treats stopping prescribed medication during a retreat as grounds to be asked to leave.
If you are in crisis or thinking about suicide, call or text 988 (the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline) or chat at 988lifeline.org. In a life-threatening situation, call 911.
Read the retreat schedule like a contract
A real schedule tells you most of what you need to know. Look for:
- How many hours are scheduled each day. This varies more than most people expect. On the schedules we read (October 28, 2026), Onsite’s Living Centered runs about six hours of group therapy a day, a full day of Kripalu’s Yoga for Stress and Burnout lists about eight and a half hours of yoga and sessions, and a Goenka Vipassana course has about ten hours of meditation a day. None of these is wrong; pick the load you want.
- How much unscheduled time there is. Some formats have none by design: a Goenka course runs from a 4:00 am wake-up bell to 9:00 pm. At Kripalu’s R&R stay every activity is optional.
- What is optional and what is required. At a Goenka course, “Students make a commitment to stay for the entire period of the course.” If the schedule includes a cold plunge or sauna, read the heat and cold section below first.
- What happens on arrival and departure days. Count nights, not days: the Hoffman Process is “7 days, 6 nights”, and Kripalu’s April 28 to 30, 2027 program is two nights, with check-in from 2:00 pm, a session on the first evening and one on the last morning.
Many programs publish a timetable (Dhamma.org and Kripalu do; Kripalu adds that “Actual times and schedules may vary”). If the page is vague, ask for the schedule in writing before you pay.
Check who leads the retreat and what their credentials mean
The name on the homepage is often not the person leading your dates. Teachers are named per retreat and change by date: IMS lists two teachers for its December 9 to 16, 2026 retreat, and Spirit Rock lists five for November 6 to 13, 2026. Find out who leads your week, then check what their credentials actually mean:
| Title you may see | What it means | How to check |
|---|---|---|
| Licensed therapist, psychologist, counselor | A state license; the APA notes psychologists “must be licensed by the state or jurisdiction in which they practice” | Ask for the license type and state, then look it up with that state’s board |
| Registered yoga teacher (RYT) | A credential from Yoga Alliance after training at a school it registers, not a government license; Yoga Alliance says its standards do not credential yoga therapy | Yoga Alliance directory |
| Massage therapist | Licensed in most states, but California’s certification is voluntary and Kansas, Minnesota and Wyoming have no state regulation (FSMTB) | The state board, or FSMTB’s license lookup |
| “Trauma-informed” | SAMHSA’s term for how a program or organization works, not a license | Ask who on staff is licensed, and in what |
| Coach, facilitator, teacher | No license implied | Ask about training, and who handles a mental-health problem |
Ask who handles a medical or mental-health problem on site, and how far the nearest hospital is. Expect honest answers like IMS’s: it is “unable and unqualified to provide medical and psychological care” and about 45 minutes from the nearest hospital. Of the programs we read, only Onsite said licensed clinicians review your intake.
Heat, cold, breathwork and fasting: retreat practices that need a health check
Cold plunges and saunas. Try them at a local studio first (day options by city are here), and ask your doctor before you start if you have heart disease, high or low blood pressure, diabetes, epilepsy, poor circulation, take regular medication, or are pregnant. Cleveland Clinic’s guidance for beginners: cold water of 50 to 59°F for a minute or two, “once or twice a week”, and get out if you feel lightheaded; no sauna after drinking alcohol or after a recent heart attack or stroke, start with about 5 minutes, and leave if you feel dizzy or weak. The National Weather Service warns that cold shock is as dangerous in 50 to 60°F water as near freezing. Our heat, cold and medication checklist lists the drug types to ask a pharmacist about.
Hikes in heat. If the schedule includes hikes in a hot place or season, ask when they start and whether there is an indoor option. The National Weather Service says people with chronic medical conditions, older adults on certain medications, and pregnant women are at higher risk from heat.
Breathwork. Try a short, gentle class before you commit to an intensive, and talk to your doctor first if you have epilepsy, a heart or lung condition, are pregnant, or have a psychiatric condition or a history of trauma. NIH’s complementary health center says relaxation practices are generally safe for healthy people, but there are rare reports of them worsening symptoms in people with epilepsy, some psychiatric conditions or a history of abuse or trauma.
Fasting and cleanses. If a program restricts food (a juice cleanse, broth fast or very low-calorie menu), treat it as a health decision. The National Institute on Aging says there is insufficient evidence to recommend any calorie-restriction or fasting diet and advises talking with your health care provider about the benefits and risks first.
Psychedelic “plant medicine” retreats are outside this checklist. Psilocybin is a Schedule I drug under federal law (DEA), and Oregon, for example, allows it only at state-licensed service centers after a preparation session with a licensed facilitator.
Food, allergies and dietary needs at a retreat
Read the food page as part of the price. On the pages we read (October 2026), some retreats serve one menu to everyone (Dhamma.org asks students to accept simple vegetarian meals; Breitenbush serves three vegetarian meals a day), while others say they adjust meals to your needs (Onsite; Golden Door).
If you have a food allergy, put it in writing before you pay and ask how the kitchen handles it, including shared equipment. The FDA lists nine major food allergens (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans and sesame) and warns that any allergic reaction can lead to anaphylaxis. Bring your own epinephrine if you carry it.
Accessibility, remoteness and emergencies at a retreat
Ask about access before you pay: step-free paths to your room, the dining hall and the practice space; bathroom type; chairs for sitting practice; and how far you walk each day. Hotels and other lodging covered by the ADA must describe accessible features in enough detail for you to judge for yourself; some religious retreat centers are exempt from certain ADA rules (IMS says so), so ask them directly and early. Dhamma.org provides chairs for those unable to sit on the floor because of age or a physical problem.
Remote retreats can be far from care and offline: Breitenbush has no cell service or internet. Bring your insurance card, your medication list and your doctor’s contact details, as IMS asks its guests to.
What the retreat price includes: build the real total
The headline number is often not the total. On the pages we read on October 28, 2026, taxes were extra at Canyon Ranch and Cal-a-Vie; Kripalu added a separate room charge and a 3% processing fee; Spirit Rock and IMS fees did not include the teachers, who are supported by donations (dana). Since May 12, 2025, an FTC rule has required hotels and other short-term lodging to show a total price that includes every mandatory fee they can calculate, but taxes and optional extras can still be added before you pay. Check each line:
- Room type. The gap differs a lot. A room to yourself on Canyon Ranch Lenox’s Mindful Journey cost from $1,350 a night against $1,215 per person sharing, before taxes; Kripalu listed a private room with a hall bath at $209 to $299 a night against $109 to $129 for a dorm bed; Hoffman’s tuition already includes a single room.
- Airport transfers. Included in some packages (Cal-a-Vie; Canyon Ranch’s Mindful Journey), extra at others (Lake Austin Spa Resort’s water taxi has “an additional fee”). Ask for the price before you book flights.
- Treatments. Some packages include a set number (Canyon Ranch’s three-night Mindful Journey includes five services; Cal-a-Vie’s La Petite includes two massages, a facial, reflexology and a leg treatment), others charge per service (Kripalu’s Healing Arts).
- Tips. Policies differ, so ask. Canyon Ranch and Miraval say they are no-tipping resorts, Lake Austin Spa Resort’s vacation packages include gratuities, and Kripalu says gratuities are not included in its Healing Arts service fees.
Two worked examples from prices read on October 28, 2026. Kripalu’s two-night Yoga for Stress and Burnout program (April 28 to 30, 2027) is $349 tuition plus two nights of room, from $109 a weeknight in a dorm bed or $209 to $299 a night in a private room with a hall bath, plus Kripalu’s 3% processing fee; meals are included and travel is extra. Canyon Ranch Lenox’s three-night Mindful Journey is three nights at from $1,350 per person a night with a room to yourself or $1,215 sharing, before taxes, with meals, five services and round-trip transportation included and no tipping.
Deposits, refund terms and travel insurance
If you cannot say the refund terms in one sentence, you do not understand them yet. The terms we read on October 28, 2026 show how much they vary: Cal-a-Vie keeps a $3,000 deposit per person once a 24-hour grace period has passed, and Hoffman keeps its $700 deposit; Golden Door refunds the deposit up to 30 days out and Canyon Ranch up to 21 days; Kripalu refunds all but $50 up to 15 days out, then gives an account credit; IMS charges a $50 or $200 fee depending on the date and gives no refunds in the last four weeks before a retreat; Spirit Rock gives no refunds in the last two weeks; Breitenbush refunds all but $50 up to 72 hours before arrival. Onsite and Lake Austin publish no terms on the pages we read, so ask.
Travel insurance is a choice, not a must. Standard trip cancellation cover repays prepaid costs only for the reasons the policy lists (illness with a doctor’s note, a family emergency, severe weather and similar); pre-existing health conditions are a common exclusion, and “cancel for any reason” add-ons usually repay only part, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. Check what your credit card already covers. Our guide to travel insurance for wellness retreats covers when it is worth buying.
How to pay a retreat deposit safely
Get the cancellation terms and the total in writing, and pay the deposit by credit card. Under federal billing rules you can dispute charges for things you “didn’t accept or weren’t delivered as agreed” by writing to the card company within 60 days of the statement (FTC; CFPB). The FTC warns that wiring money is like sending cash, and that anyone who insists you pay by wire, payment app or gift card is a red flag. Send a question before you pay and keep the reply. Our guide to booking a retreat online safely walks through the transaction itself.
What 11 US retreats publish before you book (October 28, 2026)
Read on the retreats’ own pages (IMS, Spirit Rock and Dhamma Siri on October 27, 2026). Not visited, not ranked, not a recommendation; prices change. “Not stated” means not on the pages we read.
| Retreat (where) | Who leads, as stated | Health screening, as stated | Price and what it includes | Deposit and cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kripalu, Yoga for Stress and Burnout, April 28 to 30, 2027 (Stockbridge, Mass.) | HariKirin Khalsa, MD, C-IAYT yoga therapist, and Sat Bir S. Khalsa, PhD, research faculty at Harvard Medical School | Not stated; no prior yoga or meditation experience needed | $349 tuition plus a room: dorm bed $109 to $129 a night, private room with hall bath $209 to $299; three meals and daily yoga included; 3% processing fee | Refund less $50 up to 15 days out; 14 days to one day before: account credit less $50, held one year |
| Hoffman Process (California and Connecticut) | Hoffman-certified teachers (2 to 3 years of training; “an M.A. or life equivalent”) | Enrollment counselor for severe trauma; some depression and anxiety disorders reviewed before attending | $6,950 standard tuition, 7 days and 6 nights; single room, all meals, over 90 hours of instruction | $700 deposit, non-refundable and non-transferable; balance 15 days before |
| Onsite, Living Centered (Cumberland Furnace, Tenn.) | “Carefully selected and trained therapists”; license types not listed | Intake reviewed by licensed clinical professionals; no crisis intervention or detox | $6,900 for 6 days, 6 to 10 per group; program, room and meals | Not published |
| IMS, A Place of Rest, December 9 to 16, 2026 (Barre, Mass.) | Two named teachers; credentials not stated; teachers paid by donation | May not be appropriate after recent considerable trauma, significant depression or anxiety, or strong PTSD; no medical or psychological care on site | Sliding scale $330 to $2,430; covers room, meals and operations, not teaching | Deposit at sign-up; $50 or $200 fee by date, no refunds after Nov. 11, 2026 |
| Spirit Rock, November 6 to 13, 2026 (Woodacre, Calif.) | Five named teachers; credentials not stated | Questionnaire asks for your mental health professional’s contact details | Sliding scale $1,120 to $4,270; the standard rate covers food, lodging and program; teacher donations extra | 30% deposit; no refunds in the last 2 weeks |
| Dhamma Siri, Goenka 10-day course (Kaufman, Texas) | Recorded teaching by S.N. Goenka; teachers and volunteers are not medical or counseling practitioners | Application asks for mental health history and medicines | Free: no charge for teaching, room or board; donations | No fee; you commit to stay for the whole course |
| Canyon Ranch Lenox, Mindful Journey, 3 nights (Lenox, Mass.) | “A team of experts”, “from licensed therapists to spiritual wellness mentors” | Not stated; guests 14 and over | From $1,350 a night per person alone, $1,215 sharing, plus taxes; 5 services, meals, transportation; no tipping | Two-night deposit, refundable up to 21 days out |
| Golden Door (San Marcos, Calif.) | Not named (“world-renowned healers, musicians and wellness experts” in the evenings) | Not stated; meals catered to dietary requests | Price not published on the pages read; weeks start on Sunday | Deposit refunded (or moved) up to 30 days out; forfeited after |
| Cal-a-Vie, La Petite, 3 nights (Vista, Calif.) | Not stated | Not stated | $6,040 per person plus tax; 5 treatments, meals, fitness classes, San Diego airport transportation | $3,000 non-refundable deposit (24-hour grace period); no credit for early departure |
| Lake Austin Spa Resort (Austin, Texas) | Staff and guest instructors | Not stated | “Nightly rates start at $595 per person” (undated); packages include meals, classes, gratuities and treatments by package | Not published on the page read |
| Breitenbush Hot Springs (Oregon; nearest town Detroit) | Classes listed; leaders not named | Not stated | From $129 a weekday night per adult, all-inclusive: room, vegetarian meals, pools, classes | Refund less $50 until 72 hours out; credit until 24 hours; nothing after |
What the table shows: five of the 11 publish health screening or suitability rules, and only Onsite says licensed clinicians review your intake; none of the six spas, resorts and lodges states any. Refund cutoffs run from 24 hours to 30 days, and two keep the deposit if you cancel (Cal-a-Vie after a 24-hour grace period, and Hoffman).
Try the practice before you book a retreat
If you have never sat in silence for long, do a daylong at a local center first; Spirit Rock gives newcomers the same advice (“two to three daylong programs first”). If the retreat centers on breathwork, cold or heat, try a short local session first, after reading the health section above. You will learn whether the practice suits you before you pay for a week of it.
Questions to email a retreat before you book
Copy these, change the tone to match yours, and send them before you pay. Programs such as Hoffman and Onsite invite these conversations through enrollment and admissions staff.
- Who leads the dates I am considering, and what licenses or certifications do they hold?
- Can you send the actual daily schedule, including arrival and departure days, and say what is optional?
- What is the group size, and how many staff are on site?
- What health or mental-health questions do you ask before booking, and who reviews the answers?
- Who handles a medical or mental-health problem on site, and how far is the nearest hospital?
- Can I keep my usual medication schedule, and is there a fridge for medicines?
- How do you handle food allergies, and can I see a sample menu?
- Which rooms, paths and practice spaces are step-free, and what is the bathroom setup?
- What is the total cost, including room type, transfers, taxes, fees and tips?
- What exactly is refunded, credited or kept if I cancel, and by what date? How do I pay?
FAQ: choosing a wellness retreat
How do I choose my first wellness retreat? Write one sentence about what you want the week to do, then compare retreats on five things from their own pages: who leads, the daily schedule, who should check with a clinician first, the total price and the refund terms. Ask in writing for anything the page leaves out.
What should I ask a wellness retreat before booking? Who leads your dates and what credentials they hold, the real daily schedule, what health questions they ask and who reviews them, what happens in a medical problem, food and access arrangements, the total cost and the exact refund terms. The 10 questions above cover it.
Who should talk to a doctor before a wellness retreat? Anyone with recent trauma, significant depression or anxiety, PTSD or another psychiatric condition, anyone in therapy or taking prescribed medication, and anyone with heart disease, high or low blood pressure, diabetes, epilepsy or a pregnancy if the retreat includes saunas, cold plunges, breathwork, fasting or hikes in heat. Several retreats ask this on their own application forms.
How much does a wellness retreat cost in 2026? On October 28, 2026, published prices ran from free (Goenka Vipassana courses, donation-based) and $349 tuition plus a room at Kripalu, to $6,900 for Onsite’s six-day program and $6,040 plus tax for three nights at Cal-a-Vie. Travel, taxes, fees and tips can add to the total.
Are wellness retreat deposits refundable? It depends on the retreat. Of the terms we read on October 28, 2026, Cal-a-Vie ($3,000, after a 24-hour grace period) and Hoffman ($700) keep the deposit if you cancel, Golden Door refunds it up to 30 days out, Canyon Ranch up to 21 days, and Breitenbush refunds all but $50 up to 72 hours before arrival.
Do I need travel insurance for a wellness retreat? It is your choice. Standard trip cancellation cover pays only for the reasons the policy lists, often excludes pre-existing conditions, and “cancel for any reason” add-ons usually repay only part. Read the retreat’s refund terms first, then decide.
Should I tip at a wellness retreat? Ask. Canyon Ranch and Miraval say they are no-tipping resorts, Lake Austin Spa Resort’s packages include gratuities, and Kripalu’s Healing Arts fees do not include them.
What credentials should a wellness retreat leader have? It depends on what they do. Therapy needs a state license; massage therapists are licensed in most states; a registered yoga teacher (RYT) holds a Yoga Alliance credential, not a government license; “trauma-informed” is not a license. Ask for the license type and state, and check it.
The bottom line on choosing a wellness retreat
The right first retreat is the one whose schedule, teacher, health guidance, total price and refund terms you understood before you paid. When retreat pages start to blur, go back to the sentence you wrote at the start and ask which place could answer it.
Related reading for first-time bookers
- Buyer’s FAQ: Do you need travel insurance for a wellness retreat?
- Buyer’s FAQ: How Far Ahead Should You Book a Wellness Retreat?
- Wellness retreats for anxiety and burnout: how to choose safely, and when not to go
Once you have booked, our packing checklist covers what to bring and what to leave. And before you commit, our myth-bust on what people get wrong before booking covers common assumptions about fitness, cancellations and length.
Want Google to show you more from Tendground? Add us as a preferred source.